24
May
09

CL09 Top 5

Unfortunately while I was watching Katatoy at The Box someone was busy breaking into my flat, so I’m probably going to have to skip tonight’s proceedings; the Police have only just left, and I’m waiting for the guy to come and patch up the window. All I can say is I’m glad I had my laptop and camera with me, and that the burglar at least left me my collection of old consoles (obviously not a connoisseur), but on the whole I’m in a bit of a bad mood.

On the up-side it gives me a little time to finally put up some pictures, so I present to you my top five of the show so far:


At number 5, Jasmine:

JasmineJasmineJasmine

Not listed on the lineup (so I may well have got her name wrong, sorry) she was a pleasant surprise on Thursday night; despite her diminutive size her alt.folk packed a punch, and as she works at The Box behind the bar I suspect she’ll be making the odd impromptu appearance in the future.


Coming in at number 4, Mutha Humbucker

Mutha HumbuckerMutha HumbuckerMutha Humbucker

I’m not normally a fan of covers bands as they have a tendency to lack perosnality, so Mutha Humbucker made a nice change. Their energetic performance and wide range of material proved to be a real crowd-pleaser; it’s just a shame about the name!


Number 3 is James and the Giant

James and the GiantJames and the GiantJames and the Giant

Catchy original pop, JatG may well have been number one on my list if it weren’t for the fact that The Waldron isn’t really an ideal venue. Radio friendly without being bland, they’re definitely one to watch.


Just squeezing in at number 2, Ipso Facto

Ipso FactoIpso FactoIpso FactoIpso Facto

These girls have, in a manner of speaking, balls. Despite only being a three-piece, they have a massive sound, huge presence, and an attitude that many of their male counterparts would give their right arms for. Soaring vocals, crunching riffs, and a breath of fresh air in the testosterone-dominated world of rock.


And taking the top spot, Katatoy

KatatoyKatatoyKatatoyKatatoyKatatoyKatatoy

It’s a shame Katatoy’s set at The Box was during the day as there wasn’t much of a crowd in attendance and they’re too big for The Imp to allow them full rein, but if you missed them you should kick yourself. High-energy and genre defying, with an unusual but powerful combination of funky basslines, huge riffs, kick-ass beats, Hammond organ, and a Theramin (seriously, when was the last time you saw one of them being used?) these guys have a sound that’s unique but immediately accessible; an absolute must-see!

9 Responses to “CL09 Top 5”


  1. May 26, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Some good choices there, but what about Sumo Kings and Bleached Wail?

    Plus honourable mention to Troops of Mafeking.

  2. 2 Mat
    May 26, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Also good choices — it was hard picking just five, and the list went through a lot of revisions but in the end there were too many to choose from. If I’d gone for a longer list I’d have added Sumo Kings, Bleached Wail,Sgt Wolfbanger, 4Sticks, Sad Day For Puppets, Troops of Mafeking, Johnathan Tarplee, Vavoom, and many others, but I had to draw the line somewhere! I’ll probably post reviews of some of the other acts later this week, but in short I’ll just offer mad props to all the bands who played, sometimes in less than ideal circumstances, and if anyone feels hard done by that I’ve not mentioned them then all I can do is apologise!

  3. 3 Jim
    May 26, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    I saw Katatoy at the imp, and they literally blew the f**king place apart, absolutely incredible band, one of the best I have seen in years

    • 4 Mat
      May 26, 2009 at 7:54 pm

      They’ve definitely got something special; I would have gone to the Imp to see them again if it weren’t for the asshats who broke into my flat during the day. Hopefully they’ll be back again soon! (The band, not the thieving bastards.)

      • May 26, 2009 at 8:26 pm

        hi there
        fish here [lead singer from KATATOY]
        myself and the rest of the lads would just like to say a massive thank you to everyone who saw us at THE BOX or THE IMP, and cheers for the great comments it means alot to us, we had a blast at both gigs, and a big thanks to everyone at PR VOLUME for a great festival as a player and a as punter, many beers were had and many bands were seen, among my personal favourites over the weekend were FLUX at THE IMP, and BLEACHED WAIL at THE BOX who i thought were bloody great.
        we hope to be playing very soon around CREWE.
        so keep your ears to the ground
        and take it easy
        fish
        KATATOY

  4. 6 Kevin B
    May 26, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    Hi never blogged before on here but here goes! I spent most of my weekend trekking around Crewe. Caught many great bands, SGT Wolfbanger were spot on, as were Ipso Facto, and mutha humbucker, I dont know how that many quality bands were crammed into one town! Bleached wail were brilliant and from what i saw gun dogs were just on the money, so i was upset to not see them in the top 5. I did however, by total accident stumble into the imp at around half 8 on sunday. Katatoy were playing (who i have never heard of until now) and i will say if there box performance you refer to was half as good as the show they put on at the imp then the top spot is well deserved. I don’t think i have seen such a raw, aggressive and inventive band in a long time. Will certainly look out for them again.
    Also a big thanks needs to go out to all the dedicated people who made this weekend take place, you have certainly done crewe proud.

  5. May 27, 2009 at 9:35 am

    Mat – you’re doing a really good job and my comment was partially tongue-in-cheek, I totally agree, picking just five must have been impossible. (Mike McHugh has asked me to come on his show when The Cat’s next on-air and pick my top five records, don’t know how I’m going to do that!)

    Nice to put a face to the blog, obviously I saw you all round the place at the weekend and will come and say hello next time. )I’m the one who Simon got James and the Giant to dedicate their final song to at the Waldron.)

    • 8 Mat
      May 27, 2009 at 2:20 pm

      Ah, yes, I remember you! So many faces, but I didn’t really have time to stop and talk to anyone — I’ll be at the M on Saturday, so stop by and say hello.

      Good luck with your top 5 records; I wouldn’t even know where to start, and without even really thinking about it there are dozens of candidates coming to mind!

  6. May 27, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    I’ll come and say hello for sure.

    Really sorry to hear you got broken into, hope everything’s as ok as possible


Leave a Reply

