03
Jul
09

Seriously… (Updated x2)

After waiting patiently outside the Box, and apparently being the only person keen to see the gig (I was the alpha and omega of the queue), yet again I was denied entry if I intended on publicising it afterwards. Perhaps I took a different economics course than the owner of the Box, but to me "paying customer providing free advertising" is better than "turning away a paying customer and making them anithetical towards you". Perhaps there’s a good reason why they’re the only venue who views my endeavours as anything other than a positive thing, but I’m damned if I can work out what it might be.

As a result of this and the still-ludicrous weather my review of the things I did go and see will have to wait, but until some sort of explanation is forthcoming all I can say is that there’s some seriously fucked up shit going on at the Box.

Update: Received this email this morning:

Mat …. I`m Ray …the elusive owner of the BOX …. come and see me & we can sort out everything … those who know me ,…will tell you I don`t get involved in the booking of Indie bands I tend to leave it to those who know the current movement and shape of the scene. All i want is a venue which caters for all types of music and associated art. The venue has cost a fortune to build and is expensive to operate… In time I know it will be a success… but it does depend on finding the correct formula…and advertising , promoting etc. there is a place for the blog all we need to do is talk and sort it … ring me, come and enjoy a beer and well go forward together ,,,Ray ( feel free to publish my response)

Really hope this can be resolved by Wednesday — it’d be a bugger to miss Warrior Soul after all these years of waiting!

Update 2: Had a chat with Ray; nice bloke, and everything’s all sorted out.¬† Warrior Soul, here I come!

0 Responses to “Seriously… (Updated x2)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

