06
Jul
09

Some news/Firestorm (The Imp, 2-Jul-2009)

First, some good news. I had an email from Eric, one of the guys involved in reopening the Brunswick on Nantwich Road, and he’s keen to get some live music in there when it reopens so any bands who may be interested in playing there should either drop a in CD or contact him via email. They’re even thoughtfully providing a keyboard/drum setup which may make life easier for those bands who may usually be put off from playing due to the sheer logistics of the operation! Opening night is Thursday 23rd July with music from Mike Holloway’s HMV band, and they hope to have live music every Friday and Saturday, so if you want to play get in touch with him!

I should also give a quick mention to Willaston Social Club; Claire has contacted me to let me know that she’s trying to liven things up down there and is also keen to hear from bands looking for a venue.  I’ll be passing on the details of a few bands I think might be up for it, so if you’re interested get in touch and I’ll pass you through to her.

Right, that’s the end of the news. Onwards!

I’ve mentioned before that, on paper at least, I’m not a huge fan of cover bands.  There are exceptions for those that either make an extra effort or stand out in some way, but for the most part they’re largely formulaic and uninspiring.

Sadly, Firestorm for me fell into this category — the setlist could have belonged to 99.9% of cover bands, and the performance rarely rose above mediocre; the argument usually goes that they’re only "playing what the crowd wants," but (as demonstrated ably by Foulplay) the audience may respond better to familiar-but-not-clichéd material.  They weren’t bad per se but they gave no compelling reason why, if you were looking for a covers band, you should pick them out of the thousands of others out there; I was quite taken with the vocalists voice but they played few songs that really took advantage of it, and I wonder whether they wouldn’t be better off writing some original material or revising their repertoire.

14 Responses to “Some news/Firestorm (The Imp, 2-Jul-2009)”


  1. 1 savemoneyandsavetheworld
    July 6, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    What? Is everyone trying to bankrupt me? Nor more places to go see great music? Argh!

  2. July 14, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Hi,

    To say they band are only 18 years old, some 18 years younger than the singer and the fact they have only been together as Firestorm for 3 months, I think the above report is not a true reflection of the bands progression.

    Admitting the set lists are weak and ‘what the crowd wants to hear’ has been fully noted prior to this review and we are developing our own and new material with a more varied set list as we speak.

    The initial set lists were to get the band ‘on the road’ as quick as possible and get that all necessary experience we require.

    Mat, I do hope you will come to see us in the future, in the hope you will see the commitment and dedication of Firestorm taking your comments on board constructively to win the hearts of our public awaiting, with an all round entertaining and professional performance.

    Many thanks

    Simon Gold
    Lead Vocalist – Firestorm

  3. 3 Kristina Clarke
    July 15, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    mat,

    if your better then them i’ll eat my hat!

    grow up, get a life!

    so tell me, what instrument do you play?

    Firestorm members enjoy the songs they play and so do the auidience !

    i’d ‘LOVE’ to come and see the band you are in!

    please do inform me when and where you are next playing!

    I’ll come and reveiw you!

    i wish you well in getting a social life 🙂

    • 4 Mat
      July 15, 2009 at 8:12 pm

      Right now I’m not in a band — work, kids, and other commitments got in the way and I no longer had the time to dedicate to it — but I’ve been in quite a few over the years playing bass, rhythm guitar, trumpet, keyboards and drums, I’ve performed at the Albert Hall and Wembley Arena, and I have in one way or another been involved in live music for more than 20 years. However, I don’t quite see how that’s got anything to do with anything — food critics don’t have to be world class chefs and movie critics don’t have to have made movies — and I certainly don’t see how you insulting me gets us anywhere!

      That aside, everything I write here is my opinion, and you’re free to disagree, but I stand by what I said; there are so many cover bands out there that it takes something very special to stand out from the crowd, and I felt that this performance wasn’t one of those rare moments.

  4. July 16, 2009 at 8:26 am

    IMHO the job of this blog is to report honestly on bands and evenings as a whole. to do otherwise would be to short-change blog readers

    i also think it would short-change the bands themselves, it can be hard to hear developmental feedback (which used to be known as constructive criticism), but it’s a great way to find out where we need to develop. however that’s probably neither here nor there in terms of this blog, which is surely about commenting on the music scene?

    i’m sure mat the author meant no disrespect to anyone – he didn’t make any personal remarks, it was all about the music – but in fairness to us, his readers, IMHO he needs to be honest.

    i’m really glad that was said has provoked a reader into showing support for a band and promising to get out there and see them – that’s what we all need to do.

  5. September 16, 2015 at 5:19 am

    Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this site on a regular basis, this web site is
    genuinely pleasant and the viewers are actually sharing good thoughts.


Leave a Reply

